Advocacy & Achievements

ParaQuad NSW was established in 1961 to provide support to people with spinal cord injury by developing services and care with the aim to help achieve their life choices after injury.

Until the early 1980s, ParaQuad operated from a suburban house at Hurstville and had a small, but very active membership. The organisation moved headquarters to Ashfield, then to Homebush, and in 2003, to a purpose-built site at Newington and added services such as accommodation and clinical services.

Milestones in ParaQuad’s History

Celebrating ParaQuad’s 50th Anniversary

To celebrate our 50th anniversary, we created a commemorative history book “The ParaQuad NSW Story”.

You can either download a copy of this book or contact ParaQuad NSW on Tel: 02 8741 5627 or email and we will send you a hard copy at no cost.

Download The ParaQuad NSW Story

ParaQuad Leadership

ParaQuad NSW has had a strong and professional leadership, both at Board and CEO level over the years.

Presidents and Chairmen

Mr Jack Ferguson (Deceased): 1961 – 1968
Dr John M F Grant, AO, OBE (Deceased): 1968 – 2000
*Dr Edward Watts (Deceased): 2000 – 2003
Mr David Kerr: 2003 – 2004
*Ms Wendy Potter (Deceased): 2004 – 2012
*Mr Anders Halvorsen: 2012 – present

Chief Executive Officers

*Mr Ashley Coops – Founding Secretary/CEO: 1961-1983 (Deceased)
Mr Bob Duncan (Deceased): 1983-2002
Mr Greg Smith: 2003 – 2006
Mr Max Bosotti: 2006 – 2019
Mr David Clarke: 2019 – present

*Denotes a wheelchair user.

Life Members

  • Dr John M F Grant, AO, OBE (Deceased). Founding member of the Association and President from 1968 to 2000. Pioneering neurosurgeon and Head of the Spinal Unit at Royal North Shore Hospital. Dr Grant also dedicated much time to supporting sporting activities at the highest level for disabled individuals and this led to his Presidency of the Sydney Paralympic Organising Committee where he oversaw the planning and delivery of the Sydney 2000 Paralympic Games.
  • *Mr Fred Kaad OBE, Member of the Board of Directors from 1966, Vice-President 1975 to 1998. Deputy Chairman of SpinalCure Australia since 2004.
  • Mr John E Quick (Deceased) ParaQuad Board member, and president of Ferguson Lodge management committee. Life member since 1987.
  • Mr Neville Kidd. Board member from 1967-1991. Life member since May, 1991. Treasurer of the Association.
  • Mr Francis P Coyne (Frank) OAM (Deceased). Life member since 1998, for his ‘dedication, support and encouragement of the Association’.
  • Ms Mary Cleary president of the Newcastle branch from 1980 – 1989.
  • *Mr Bob Duncan (Deceased). CEO of ParaQuad 1983-2002. Life member since 2006.
  • Dr Sue Rutkowski AM, long-standing supporter of ParaQuad, former Board member and spinal specialist.

*Denotes a wheelchair user.